B2C |B2B

HISTORY OF THE NAME

On April 7, 1962, the order of the Chief of the General Administration of Civil Air Fleet No. 200 «On the organization of the Moscow Domodedovo Airport» was issued, the text of which stated: «To organize, as part of the Moscow Administration of Transport Aviation of CAF, Domodedovo Airport, and henceforth, to call it the Moscow Domodedovo Airport».

Origin of the name

The name comes from the name of the town of Domodedovo, emerged near the similarly-named station, which, in turn, was named after the village mentioned in the testaments of Vladimir Andreevich Serpukhovsky in 1401-1402, who belonged to the royal family of the Romanovs from the 17th century. The cadastres say about generations of many famous people that lived in that area - Menshikovy and Naryshkiny, Obolenskiye and Ogaryovy.

Our days

According to the results of nationwide voting in the contest «Great Names of Russia», held in 2018, the Moscow Domodedovo Airport got the name of Mikhail Lomonosov - scholar and lexicographer, the legacy of which is associated with the development of modern high-tech industries.

Mikhail Lomonosov is considered to be the founder of Russian science, as well as the first Russian scientist-naturalist. Having received a thorough education, Lomonosov conducted various research activities in the Russian Academy of Sciences: optics, heat, electricity and gravitation, meteorology and art, geography, metallurgy, history and chemistry, philosophy and literature, geology and astronomy, - these are the areas in which this outstanding scientist has made his marks. Lomonosov's literary activity is closely connected with the research.
«From the beginning, we supported the project «Great Russian names». It is symbolic that on the basis of open voting results, the airport will be named after Mikhail Lomonosov. First, Domodedovo implements joint educational projects with Moscow State University. Second, in the development of high-tech airport business, we give preference to scientific approaches. We are honored that Domodedovo preserve the memory of the first Russian scientist for tens of millions of Russian and foreign air travelers» - the director of the Domodedovo Airport Igor Borisov said.

According to the presidential decree of November 28, 2018, the name of an outstanding person assigned to the transport infrastructure object «is not part of the established geographic object», and does not entail a change of its name. Thus, changes to the airport code, which is defined by the International Air Transport Association (IATA), is not provided.

Codification

IATA airport code is a three-letter unique identifier assigned to the airports of the world by the International Air Transport Association (IATA). The code is assigned by the headquarters of the mentioned organization. Normally, it is a name of a natural location compressed to 3 letters. IATA airport codes are used by the airlines, tickets agencies, ticket booking computer systems, and other involved organizations to transmit information related to the organization of commercial activities in the field of passenger traffic and the interaction of the different companies within this business.

IATA code for the Moscow Domodedovo Airport - DME

ICAO airport code is a four-letter unique individual identifier assigned to airports of the world by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). These codes are used by the airlines, air traffic control and meteorological services for transmission of aeronautical and meteorological information for airports and flight plans, designation of civil airfields on the navigation maps and addresses of airports in the international Aeronautical Fixed Telecommunication Network.

IATA code for the Moscow Domodedovo Airport - UUDD

In addition to the ICAO and IATA codes, the airports have regional code combinations. They are used only within a country (in Russia, for example, there are around 3000 codes in such a system). All regional 3-letter codes (sometimes Cyrillic) are unique.

IATA code of the Moscow Domodedovo Airport - DMD

B2C |B2B

История названия

7 апреля 1962 года вышел приказ начальника Главного управления гражданского воздушного флота № 200 «Об организации Московского аэропорта Домодедово», в тексте которого значилось: «Организовать в составе Московского управления транспортной авиации ГВФ аэропорт Домодедово и впредь именовать его московский аэропорт Домодедово».

Происхождение названия

Название аэровокзала произошло от имени города Домодедово, возникшего рядом с одноименной станцией, которая, в свою очередь, названа по имени села, упоминавшегося в духовной грамоте Владимира Андреевича Серпуховского в 1401-1402 годов и принадлежащего с 17 века царскому роду Романовых. В писцовых книгах говорится о проживании в этой местности поколений многих известных людей – Меншиковых и Нарышкиных, Оболенских и Огаревых.

Наши дни

Михаил Ломоносов считается основоположником российской науки, а также первым русским учёным-естествоиспытателем. Получив всестороннее образование, Ломоносов вел разнообразную исследовательскую деятельность в Российской академии наук: оптика и теплота, электричество и тяготение, метеорология и искусство, география и металлургия, история и химия, философия и литература, геология и астрономия—вот те области, в которых этот выдающийся ученый оставил свои следы. Литературная деятельность Ломоносова тесно соприкасалась с научной.

«Мы с самого начала поддерживали проект «Великие имена России». Символично, что по итогам открытого голосования наш аэропорт будет носить имя Михаила Васильевича Ломоносова. Во-первых, Домодедово реализует совместные образовательные проекты с Московским государственным университетом. Во-вторых, в развитии высокотехнологичного аэропортового бизнеса мы отдаём предпочтение научным подходам. Для нас большая честь, что Домодедово сохранит память о первом российском учёном для десятков миллионов российских и иностранных авиапутешественников», — директор аэропорта Домодедово Игорь Борисов.

Согласно Указу Президента РФ от 28 ноября 2018 г., присвоенное объекту транспортной инфораструктуры имя выдающегося человека «не является составной частью установленного географического объекта», а также не влечет за собой изменения его наименования. Таким образом, внесение изменений в код аэропорта, который определяет Международная ассоциация воздушного транспорта (ИАТА), не предусмотрено.

Кодификация

Код аэропорта ИАТА (IATA) — трёхбуквенный уникальный идентификатор, присваиваемый аэропортам мира Международной ассоциацией воздушного транспорта (ИАТА). Код выделяется штаб-квартирой этой организации. Обычно, это сжатое до 3 букв закономерное название локации. Коды аэропортов ИАТА используются авиакомпаниями, агентствами по продаже авиабилетов, компьютерными системами бронирования билетов, другими заинтересованными организациями для передачи информации, связанной с организацией коммерческой деятельности в области пассажирских авиаперевозок и со взаимодействием разных предприятий в рамках этой коммерческой деятельности.

Код ИАТА Московского Аэропорта Домодедово — DME

Код аэропорта ИКАО (индекс аэропорта ИКАО) — четырёхбуквенный уникальный индивидуальный идентификатор, присваиваемый аэропортам мира Международной организацией гражданской авиации (ICAO). Данные коды используются авиакомпаниями, органами управления воздушным движением и метеорологическими службами для передачи аэронавигационной и метеорологической информации по аэропортам, планов полётов), обозначения гражданских аэродромовна радионавигационных картах, а также в качестве адресов аэропортов в международной сети телеграфной авиационной связи AFTN.

Код ИАТА Московского Аэропорта Домодедово — UUDD

Кроме ICAO и IATA у аэропортов есть региональные кодовые комбинации. Ими пользуются только внутри какой-либо страны (в России, к примеру, в такой системе около 3 000 кодов). Все региональные коды из 3 букв (иногда кириллических) создан коды являются уникальными.

Код ИАТА Московского Аэропорта Домодедово — ДМД